WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Looking to Reach a Non-Tradional Gaming Market

nothinglikeitnothinglikeit subscriber Posts: 27
edited March 2007 in Business Planning
I`m an indie game developer. Which means that my games are not yet influenced by market factors, publishers, or financing. I basically create what I believe is a need in the market, as well as a game I`m passionate about creating. Traditionally games budgets have ballooned and the games themselves have become more sophisticated. It`s gotten to the point where a lot of time required to create them and lot of time and money is required to play them. (600.00 for a Playstation 3? Anyone interested?.) As a busy worker/college student I don`t have the required time or money to play said games. I saw that there was a need to create shorter gaming experiences for today`s busy adults. The aim is to make games that cost less to make; and more importantly, cost less and require less time for the end user. My target market are current and former hardcore gamers. These are guys and gals that are into playing games for 5-15 hours a week. But since they may have other obligations (family, work, school) and can`t spend the same amount of time or money on gaming that they once could.My question is: I know that I can reach them online via my website and other online sources. But I`m wondering if I can successfully market to them in "Real World" places where these busy people frequent daily. So far I`m thinking about having game demo CDs on counters at independent Coffee shops or Internet cafes. But I`m unsure how receptive my target market would be to having games available in places their not used to.

Comments

• nothinglikeitnothinglikeit subscriber Posts: 27