WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

How to Value (and Sell) a Home/Online Business?

ThymeThyme subscriber Posts: 1
edited February 2009 in Home-Based Businesses
Hi there,
I am new to StartupNation.  So, if this topic has already been discussed, I apologize in advance for the redundancy.
I have a home-based business that I started 2 years ago.  I import a small (4-7 items) clothing line from Asia.  The line carries my label.  I sell both via my site and ebay. 
I would like to sell the whole thing--from A to Z as I am now going to be returning to work.  I created this business as I am a mother to 3 young children.  However, they are now going to be starting school in Sept. 2009 and I, myself, will be returning to my place of employment.  Not only does this business run smoothly, but there is room for growth and expansion.
I know how and where I can offer my business up for sale.  My main problem is setting the price and backing it up when a potential buyer asks for my thoughts behind such a value.  I have looked on the net for some potential strategies, but they are more complicated than I would think necessary as they usually pertain to big companies.
So, I came here. 
If anyone can offer some assistance on how to price my small business, I would be grateful.  As well, if any one has some words of advice or "Take Caution!" thoughts, please do share.
Thank you!Thyme2/4/2009 9:04 AM

Comments

• WebJunkyWebJunky subscriber Posts: 8 Member