WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Starting a photography business

mikeharris7mikeharris7 subscriber Posts: 1
edited December 2008 in Startup Funding
Hi all, I was just laid off for the 2nd time in 15 months. I`ve decided I`ve had enough of that, and would like to start my own business. I have a degree in photography, and I think I`m darn good at it. I`ve figured out a unique idea too. Now I`m trying to put all the pieces together to get this going. I`m going to need a little start up capital, but I`m trying to get a handle on how much. Has anyone done anything along these lines and can offer tips and suggestions?

Comments

• robertjrobertj subscriber Posts: 0 Member
    Mike,
    Sorry to hear about your employment woes.
    What I tell my clients to do as the first two steps in the startup sequence are:
    1. Get your personal financial house in order. Determine exactly how much you will need (monthly) to survive. Take action to reduce that amount if possible.

2. Prepare a basic financial projection for the business. It doesn`t have to include every minute detail but it should tell you:
          a. How much capital will be needed to start the business
          b. How long it will be before the business reaches break even
          c. When it can pay you enough to cover your personal needs (item 1)
          d. How much additional capital will be required to bridge the gaps.
    Given the above information, you`ll then need to decide how to acquire the necessary capital. (your capital strategy) and what you will need to do to prepare to acquire it (get Capital Ready)

If you want to discuss the specifics of your situation, send me a PM or contact me directly.
  • stonesledgestonesledge subscriber Posts: 608 Silver Level Member