WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Total newbie wanting to build a site

ocanycocanyc subscriber Posts: 1
Hi everyone. I hope I`ve come to the right place for advice. I basically want to know whats the steps in creating a website. For example I know one has to decide on shopping cart software. What else does one have to decide on what to purchase to run a site. I`ll be selling electronics in the beginning most likely. Things to consider and costs are what I`m looking for in advice. TIA.

Comments

• Options
    ToddFToddF subscriber Posts: 3
    I suggest you go with a reliable developer that knows how to setup carts and has built a successful online shop for others. You spend your time on the business, the brand, lining up deals, etc. You cant do everything.
  • Options
    vwebworldvwebworld subscriber Posts: 40
    There are a few posts on SUN about website development. What you need depends upon what your goals are for your website, what you want and need it to do (functionally).
    There is a great desire and tendency to want to do it yourself, and there are many programs and bundled website builders that can help you do it yourself. The important question is where is your time best spent? Learning to create, creating, and maintaining a website or devoting your time to growing, improving your business and providing customer service?
    Like any of the business decisions you make, there are trade-offs, pros and cons to your decision. Less up-front cost for DIY versus potentially better results using a web designer.
    At the very least, you might think about getting some quotes to create your site. Through the quote process you may discover what you need for your site even if you do not end up hiring a web designer.