WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Can`t decide for myself...

chaosmschaosms subscriber Posts: 1
edited January 2008 in Selecting a Business
Hi Everyone!
I`m new to this forum and am excited to have become a member.  I have been pondering a business for a few years now.  I have previously owned a business, and it did well, and could still be doing well, just wasn`t "me" and eventually I lost interest.
Remember, both of these are a passion of mine.  I`m fortunate to have found something that I can see myself doing everyday for as long as I live and continuously become happier. I loose sleep thinking of these!  Problem is, can`t decide what to keep as a hobby and what to turn into a living.
The First:
Motorsport/Recreational Vehicle and Accessories Dealer.
Basically I would be selling ATVs, motorcycles, snowmobiles, golf carts, ect... A big part of business would also include accessories such as performance parts, safety, clothing, and even a full-service shop for machine repairs and upgrades.  Eventually, I would like to create an online store selling this inventory also.
Some potential problems I see.  I`m not sure how manufacturers work but I`m going to assume only so many dealers are allowed per zip or county. (For brand new models)  In my area there is two within four miles,  and approx 40 within a 45 mile radius. 
However, considering most require a minimum of $250k liquid and an actual storefront, I will have to start with used machines.  This might be good.  Not very many dealers carry a large used inventory around here.