WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Restaurant Investment Inquiry

dbarton02dbarton02 subscriber Posts: 1
edited July 2008 in Elevator Pitches
I am new to Startup Nation and thought I would put a few feelers out there for some ideas that I have had for quite some time.

In a general sense, I love being in the kitchen - coming up with new recipes, ideas, concepts, etc.

A close friend of mine and myself, for some time, have always talked about either opening an independent restaurant, or a franchised restaurant in the SW Burbs of Chicago somewhere. 
Obviously, the big thing that has prevented us from moving forward (except for menu concepts) is the area involving the green!  We`re both in our mid to late 20`s, have steady full-time jobs, and were thinking of the possibilities of outside sources funding the operation, with the two of us, plus a close friend who has years of restaurant management experience running the operation. 

Has there ever been a scenario close to this... where the `owners` work the business, taking a small percent while the investor takes the majority of returns - that being the form of repayment - `till the initial debt is paid off?

I welcome your thoughts - and then if I find it is possible, I will ask anyone interested to contact me to review the in-depth plans.

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    robertjrobertj subscriber Posts: 0 Member
    To your question :
    Has there ever been a scenario close to this... where the `owners` work the business, taking a small percent while the investor takes the majority of returns - that being the form of repayment - `till the initial debt is paid off? I`m sure there has - but it isn`t exactly the way I`d go about it.