WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Need help. Took a wrong turn, and I'm in deep!

jeffjotjeffjot subscriber Posts: 1 Member
edited October 2022 in Business Planning

Hello all,

After 25 years as a computer tech, I had had it with constant threats of layoffs and endless laundry lists of experience demands by employers. But mostly, the fact that could never find stable work. As my 50s approached I wanted to do something- anything- that had more stability. To be self employed, before it was all over That is the American dream, right?

Well here's what I ended up doing. I cashed in my life's savings, my 401K, my IRA.... all of which wasn't enough to retire on anyway. And I bought a couple run down properties.

I then spent about 3 years renovating them. I did all the work and labor myself. First a triplex which was completely run down, and then a duplex. I then rented these out for rental income. My idea was..... this was stable income I couldn't be fired from, and even though the rent coming in from the 5 apartments was still a lot less than what I used to make computer contracting, I could do other work on the side right.

And because of my age, I thought I would also have more time as I felt like my time was running out. Do you know what I mean?

I couldn't have been more wrong!!

Ever since I rented out these apartments, it has been a constant struggle. Drama with tenants and 24/7 management- which really limits you as they can complain about things at all hours- but also the coming and going, the vacancies.... which I never anticipated.