WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Fear of starting

AnfisaAnfisa subscriber Posts: 3 Member
edited May 2021 in Business Planning

Hey everyone!

I started studying business. I want to create my online shop and known many theory in this theam, but scared to start practice. My fears stop me. I'm afraid of what will work and what will not work...

It will cool if you tell about your experience or may be lifehacks. It would be interesting how you started development in this area.

Comments

• Options
    Tuah BaoTuah Bao subscriber Posts: 176 Silver Level Member

Hi @Anfisa

There is nothing to afraid of. I would say 'just do it'. What business do you have in mind?

The risk is pretty low if you are dealing with only digital products (like ebook, software..etc). You can be a marketer or affiliate to promote these products and get a commission. Therefore, you can have zero inventory cost or development cost.

Setting up a website is pretty easy with WordPress, Drupal or Joomla. You can search all these very easily with Youtube or enroll in free/paid online courses. On the other hand, what you need is a domain name which you can get it for about $8 or 9 (.com). While, you can get web hosting for free (like 000webhost.com, freehostia.com....etc) but limited features, or subscribe to a low cost hosting plan, $1 per month (like owebhost.com) or go for bigger players like GoDaddy, Dreamhost..etc. The price could be $4-8 per month, or maybe you can get at cheaper price during promotional period (sign up as new customer for 36-month plan). Depends on your budget. But, usually you do not need unlimited domains, subdomains, databases, space and bandwidth. Just subscribe what you need and upgrade later. Save some money for marketing campaign.