WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Where are my mistakes?

TIto MoraisTIto Morais subscriber Posts: 2 Member

Hello,

I am a software developer myself and I started developing an idea about 2 years ago.

Some mistakes I am already aware of, others not yet. For that reason I decided to write a little bit of my story in here.

As I said I am a software developer that have not much experience on the management field also on the startup on. The only guideline I tried to follow was the "Lean startup", but there are some details and specific situations that I believe are not covered by books, but by others experience.

The main error, I have spent more than an year building an MVP. This I know is something wrong, I started an application with many features and I was cutting off to make it as thin as

possible, but even like the simplest page took a long time.

1st Mistake (didn't check developers work closely): I hired a full stack developer to make the service from Upwork and I didn't check the code. The problem is that this person apparently was intelligent and good, but he really

like to over complicated the code in a way that the other developers after him couldn't understand the code. He made about 80% of the website and I didn't know if I throw his work away or start from zero. Was not an easy decision, we had meetings almost everyday after my work and there was a lot of code. After hiring different developers I noticed some of them were bullshitting and didn't want to work and I realize that doesn't matter how the person is good, he can be also a motherfucker and don't care about your project or you. And even the

good ones you need to be checking all the time.